- Home

- Hwa Rang Do®

- Tae Soo Do®

- Stages of Growth

- Founder

- The Leaders

- The Dojang

- Our Objectives

- Class Schedule

- School Location

- Photo Galleries

- Links

- Contact Us


               Hwa Rang Do® - " The Way of The Flowering Knights "


Hwa Rang Do® is an 1800 year old Korean Martial and Healing Arts system. Its theory is based on the Um-Yang principle which states that all things in nature possess equal opposites and the state of balance of these opposing forces creates Harmony in one's life.

During the ancient times in the kingdom of Shilla, an elite group of young males were selected from noble families and were taught literature, dance, poetry, horsemanship, philosophy, science, and the art of war. They were known as the "Hwa Rang" the Flowering Knights, and due to their physical and mental strengths, these Hwa Rang warriors lead their kingdom in the unification of the Korean peninsula for the first time.

This system has been passed down to modern times, and in 1960 Dr. Joo Bang Lee brought this system back to the public when he began teaching in Seoul, Korea. Since then, Hwa Rang Do® has spread throughout the world, while keeping a firm hold on its tradition.

For more detailed information on Hwa Rang Do® history please CLICK HERE.

Martial Skills:

Hwa Rang Do® is one of the most comprehensive martial arts systems to be found in the world today. It is a balance of both soft/circular principles and hard/linear principles of movement in four divisions.

Nae Gong - Internal Power
Is the area of study which involves developing one's internal energy, or Ki power, through meditation and breathing exercises. Through both passive (um) and active (yang) methods an individual can enhance his or her physical abilities, as well as healing capacity.

Wae Gong - External Power
Is the development of physical combat skills which takes the form of over 4,000 offensive and defensive techniques, 365 kicking combinations in both hard/linear and soft/circular movements. The achievement of complete physical control.

These physical skills are focused on the Three Stages of Fighting:
1. Standing with Distance:
The first stage of fighting occurs when two or more opponents are standing within arms range. This is where we apply kicking and punching combinations.
2. In-close and standing:
Once you break the perimeter of your opponent, you are now inside. In-fighting incorporates the use of joint manipulation, pressure points, and takedowns.
3. On the ground, grappling:
Once a takedown has been applied, you are now on the ground. Ground fighting utilizes the use of choking, pressure points, and joint manipulation to make your opponent surrender.

Shin Gong - Mental Power
The development of mental concentration and alertness through a disciplined regiment of meditation, geared to enhancing greater focus. Also included is the study of the philosophy of the martial way in order to apply its principles to everyday life.

Moo Gi Gong - Weapon Power
The development and mastery of external objects. There are over 108 different weapons found within Hwa Rang Do®, and by learning these various weapon systems, the practitioner can most effectively utilize any object as a weapon as the situation demands.

Healing Skills:

Another important part of Hwa Rang Do® is its study of healing skills. All advanced practitioners of Hwa Rang Do® must learn these healing skills in conjunction with their martial skill practice. If one can cause injury (or worse) then one must also have the ability to heal. The healing skills found in Hwa Rang Do® are divided into 6 categories:

Ji Ap Sool - Acupressure
Chim Gu Sool - Acupuncture and Maxabustion
Yak Bang Bop - Herbal Medicine
Jup Gol Sool - Bone Setting
Hwal bop - Special Aids
Ki Ryuk Sool - Ki Power Healing

Code of Ethics:

1800 Years ago, by the mandate of King Chinghung, the Hwa Rang Do® Oh Kae was composed by the Buddhist priest Won Kwan Bopsa so that the Hwa Rang warriors may live by a strict code of ethics. Supreme Grandmaster, Dr. Joo Bang Lee, created the Kyo Hoon, which are nine doctrines that better help the student follow the warrior's path.

Together the Oh Kae and Kyon Hoon comprise the Hwa Rang Do® Meng Sae, or art's philosophical, ethical, and moral foundation.

Hwarang Oh Kae
1. Il. Sa Kun E Choong -
Loyalty to One's Country

2. E. Sa Chin E Hyo -
Loyalty to One's Parents and Teachers

3. Sam. Kyo Woo E Shin-
Trust and Brotherhood Among Friends

4. Sa. Im Jeon Moo Tae-
Courage to Never Retreat in the Face of the Enemy

5. Oh. Sal Saeng You Taek-
Justice to Never Take a Life Without a Cause

Dojoo Nim`s Kyo Hoon
1. In - Humanity
2. Oui - Justice
3. Yea - Courtesy
4. Ji - Wisdom
5. Shin - Trust
6. Sun - Goodness
7. Duk - Virtue
8. Choong - Loyalty
9. Yong - Courage

Return to the World Hwa Rang Do® Association Homepage

Copyright © 2003 - Hwa Rang Do® World Headquarters